Beltane Eve

I would like to wish you a blessed Beltane eve and a wonderful Beltane for tomorrow.

I know that by the calendar Beltane is celebrated (in the Northern Hemisphere on 1st of May) but the Hawthorn is in flower here to so by a natural clock it is also Beltane.

No matter what path you follow it really is a wonderful time of the year, the weather is getting warmer, the Earth’s fecundity is everywhere from plants and flowers to the blossom on the trees being fertilised by winged creatures that never seem to stop working. My apple blossom (thankfully visited before the storm over the weekend removed all blossom petals), is already showing signs of plumpness indicating the possibility of apples!

My plans for a small fire and a chilled relaxing evening went by the wayside after locking myself out of the house when I finished work and my husband was in bed recovering from a disability assessment he had today. I had to ring my daughter who was out with my parents to come home and let me in!

She told me over the phone that her first period had turned up and she wanted her mum (as all previous conversations about what to do bad gone out of her head!)

Bless her, she was very clingy we she got home, our little (eldest) girl had crossed into womanhood. I must admit I felt quite emotional!

I felt that there was a wonderful syncronicity that she had become a woman on the eve of Beltane so I didn’t want to let it pass by, I wanted to mark this transition in someway – bearing in mind that this child is in no way Pagan. I asked for some suggestions from fellow pagan friends on what I could do, true to form they came through with many suggestions so a little ritual formed in my kind.

I made the newest Maiden a crown of green ivy with some Hawthorn flowers nestled into it.

I physically drew a line on the ground for her to step over and onto a new phase of life.

Our newest maiden lit the Beltane fire

and we sat and talked about the big change in her life. Her younger sister wanted to take part too so we all sat around the fire and talked of ‘womanly things’.

I have a good feeling that the eldest was a bit bemused that I wanted make such a deal of it and kept saying ‘Muuuum!’ But I think a little bit of her was a little bit pleased too…..and she was very pleased with her flower crown (her words!)

So I think this Beltane eve will live long in my memory, emotional memories.

And on that note, I would like to wish Beltane blessings for tomorrow, however you mark it, x

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.